Thats pinteresting -Get in my mouth chocolate muffins

The other day I made homemade oreos and lunchbox didn’t like them, so today I decided to make an after school snack that hopefully he will love. Chocolate muffins, I mean who doesn’t love chocolate?

I skipped going to the gym this morning and ended up making these muffins instead. That was a bad decision because they are now calling to me and I haven’t burned enough calories to eat as many as are calling for me. Seriously my mouth really wants them to jump right in and stay a while! My 2 year old has had 4 mini muffins this morning, 3 that I gave to him and 1 that he used a stool to climb up and grab another one because, “Mom I just want one more muffin for a minute!”

I found this recipe on Pinterest from Shayla’s Kitchen, yum! You can see the original recipe and tips here

Get in my mouth chocolate muffinsImage

1 3/4 cup oats, ground to flour

3 egg whites

3/4 cup unswetened cocoa powder

1/2 cup applesauce, (I used 3/4 of an apple cut up and steamed and then blended with 1/8 cup water)

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup plain greek yogurt

1/2 tsp cream of tartar

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1 1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1 c hot water

1/4 c honey

1/2 cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line 2 (12-cup) muffin pans with foil cupcake liners.
Mix all dry ingredients. In a blender combine all wet ingredients, add dry ingredients and blend until it makes a batter. The batter is pretty thin. Add 1/2 of the chocolate chips. Scoop into muffin pans until each muffin is 3/4 full.
Place in oven and bake for 10 min for mini muffins. For regular muffins bake for 10 min. remove from oven and add chocolate chips on top of muffin, return to oven and back for 5-8 more minutes.Image
ImageThese are for sure yummy! Seriously they are so good that sometimes as a two year old you just keep eating through the wrapper because you just can’t get enough.
This entry was posted in Pinteresting, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment