Homemade Oreos

photo (91)My kids love homemade oreos, I don’t love using a cake mix that has added junk in the ingredients so I thought I would try these out.  I found the recipe on Pinterest from Chocolate Covered Katie, her recipe here.

Here is the recipe I used:

Homemade Oreos

3/4 cup soft white wheat flour

1/4 cup cocoa powder

1/8 plus 2 TBLS cane sugar

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp baking soda

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 cup coconut oil (I used hot water to melt it because it’s not quite summer here so it’s still solid at room temperature)

3 TBSP milk

2 TBSP Pure maple syrup

Combine all dry ingredients in one bowl and wet ingredients in another.  Mix dry and wet ingredients together.  The dough needs to be refrigerated for 30 min.

ImageHere’s a trick I used: form dough into a ball and place on a large rectangle of plastic wrap, cover with another piece of plastic wrap and then put it in the fridge for 30 min.  When you take it out smash it down and then use a rolling pin and roll into a thin dough. Remove just the top piece of plastic wrap and cut into circles or any shape with a cookie cutter. The bottom pieces of plastic wrap keeps the mess off your counters.  Place cutouts on a baking sheet with parchment paper, cook at 300′ for 8-10 min.  Let cool and then add filling.

Filling:

I used a cream cheese frosting to fill them, I had some left over from previous baking I had done for a party, but a healthier version I have just discovered is equal parts soften cream cheese with honey butter.  I added a few drops of Doterra peppermint essential oil to make it mint frosting.

I tasted them and thought they were pretty good.  They tasted much like the cake mix homemade oreos.  The Teenager ate them and said they were good but that they left his mouth a little dry.  Relly could taste the coconut oil in them but liked them anyways!  Lunchbox ate them as an avenue to get the frosting into his mouth.  My husband, who is the biggest critic for heathy treats, really liked them.  So overall they were a success!

This entry was posted in Pinteresting, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment